Reviews

See what our customers have to say…

  • ReviewsDelightful evening at Cortez Kitchen Following a bad experience with the hostess at Swordfish Grill after a 35-minute wait, we were not in a good mood when we walked next door to Cortez Kitchen. But we had a great time, thanks to the friendly waitress Shannon and some amazing seafood. One of the specials was grilled red shrimp, which Shannon said are from Argentina. Although we like to support locally caught seafood whenever possible, we ordered the red shrimp as an appetizer and they were so tasty I ordered them as my main course too. The main course comes with two sides ($21.99; I can’t remember appetizer price). Served with melted butter, they taste like mini-lobsters. The Steamer Pot of shrimp, scallops, clams, grouper, broccoli, and celery ($21.99) and steamed clams ($11.99) were delicious. We love the hole-in-the-wall atmosphere in a covered outdoor setting. It reminds me of what makes Anna Maria Island special. Thanks to the staff at Cortez Kitchen for rescuing our disastrous evening and making it special.

    624cliffordp
    3/12/2020

    ReviewsGreat food n menu0 We ate at the Cortez Kitchen on Monday evening. They had a good band playing, who were very good.
    Enjoyed the food and music.

    Sandra S
    2/11/2020

    ReviewsGood food, music Great atmosphere. So close to fish docks the fish are practically jumping into the skillet or on the grill. Great "real Florida" seafood. I would enthusiastically recommend this restaurant "joint" to friends and family!

    FloGrownTC
    2/11/2020

    ReviewsFresh as it gets - seafood! My wife and I love going here to Cortez Kitchen for the fresh seafood. We have been going here for many years and never disappointed. I love the scallops and ask for them blackened. Really very good and we also like the fried shrimp, delicious enough that I also eat the tails on the shrimp, that good. This is our go to spot when we arrive Florida and are looking for the real fresh seafood...Hard to beat this place as everything is very tasty! Very open, on the water and very relaxing atmosphere, Florida at it's best!

    Jepster
    1/27/2020

    ReviewsGreat dinner - Service was not so great .... I hate to bag on bad service, but they must have been short-staffed for a Friday night because our poor server was running around like a crazy person but we waited for multiple things (ranch, refills, the check) for far too long. People standing around waiting for our table since it was a packed house but we were waiting on our check.. That being said, the food was fabulous!! Royal Reds any time I can get them - if you like shell fish, YOU MUST HAVE THESE!! My husband had a burger, said it was greasy through the bun but tasted good... Good thing we were catching up with family we haven't seen in a while or the service would have been really buggy...

    kkimball73
    1/18/2020

    ReviewsGreat find! Quaint Waterfront restaurant, fresh seafood, large portions, reasonable prices. Best seafood I’ve eaten in a very long time. Staff was very friendly.

    loveysgirl
    1/12/2020

    ReviewsWonderful lunch Fresh fish sandwich and a side, in this case onion rings and for me an order of tuna roll. Very fresh. Mixed drinks were $3.50. the band was setting up to play. A lovely Sunday afternoon.

    Minkster56
    12/29/2019

    ReviewsStone crab claws! Get the dinner with seven mediums and two sides. Funky place with music on the weekends. Still weird with smoking allowed

    13ChrisM13
    11/21/2019

    ReviewsOld Florida at its best The place the locals go for good food and excellent entertainment. Our server was exceptional and her meal suggestion was right on target. Our group enjoyed the evening. Thanks Cindy for all the help.

    msistlrf
    11/07/2019
  • ReviewsGrouper sandwich to die for... Had a chance to revisit an old eatery that has been serving Real Grouper sandwichs for at least the past 20+ yrs... And the steamed broccoli with garlic "secret sauce" as a side item with the Fried, Blackened or Grilled Grouper is a true Florida Lunch or Dinner that can not be beat... Check it out for a good time with the Full Bar (including Tampa's Cigar City brewery crafted beers, plus some of the newer libations now being brewed in SRQ)...And don't forget to stop by the Florida Maritime museum which is a very short walk from the old time Cracker style eatery..

    hotfoods54
    11/06/2019

    ReviewsRoyal Red Shrimp!!! These shrimp are not just huge they taste more like lobster than shrimp. The texture is like lobster claw!!! I heard about them but was happily surprised that it's all true. Amazing food there.

    Theresa M
    10/26/2019

    ReviewsFunky, Local, Old Florida, Delightful If you want a super fancy big menu in deluxe surroundings, don't go here. But if you like a funky sort of place that's been keeping people happy - a lot of local people and visitors too - for many years, one with a lively bar, music on occasion, outside-inside setting right by the water, and one where you will see some really interesting people - types you may never see that often, well, try this place. It's been one of our favorites for years. We keep going back. Oh yes. The food is good too.

    SanFranciscoGuy634
    9/26/2019

    ReviewsGreat outdoor restaurant/bar on the waterfront where casual is not only the norm but highly recommended. Menu is seafood based but there are other items such as prime rib, burgers, and chicken.We visited restaurant for lunch and had a blackened Reuben grouper sandwich, a soft shell crab sandwich, sweet potato fries, cole slaw and finished it off with delicious key lime pie!!Great staff. Easy parking

    Bob S.
    8/21/2019

    ReviewsGood vibe at cortez kitchen Very enjoyable evening nice food friendly good service enjoyed the music great open restaurant at the waters edge boat yard

    timegginton
    8/10/2019

    ReviewsFood, entertainment, service all great! My family and I stopped by on a weekday evening. The service was prompt and friendly. All the dishes we ordered were very good....fried shrimp, fried oysters, fries, coleslaw, fresh fruit . The only small complaint was the grouper bites were slightly under cooked. The live entertainment was very good also.

    gr2070
    7/25/2019

    ReviewsNice place with fresh seafood plus good customer service, can't wait to come back. Grilled grouper was perfect

    Monika M.
    7/13/2019

    ReviewsJust Love Cortez Kitchen! For a hidden gem, with great views and true history, go here! We go several times a year and are really not disappointed. Food is sometimes hit or miss and the prices are higher but overall, a great place to hang outside and enjoy the ambiance! Drinks are cold and STRONG....Prefer beer in bottle than draft, as it gets warm to quick. I tried the Cabo Rita and it was fabulous...9.00 but huge drink and soooooo tasty! Our meal was grouper bites and hushpuppies with fried oysters......Very good!

    markandmichelefenter
    7/10/2019

    ReviewsFresh Seafood! Amazing Grouper and boiled Shrimp platters! Best fresh seafood around!!! The atmosphere is perfect if you are looking for a hidden old Florida Gem!

    KRH3285
    7/08/2019
  • ReviewsA total dive — perfect for us! If you don’t love a local dive, this isn’t your place. But if you don’t mind outdoor seating at a local bar, this is a must. Loved the food—fish and chips, grouper sandwich, magi sandwich, wings. Our family really liked it. It’s not classy—but it is great! Would definitely go back. They have live music sometimes, too, but no band when we were there.

    778amyf
    6/29/2019

    ReviewsLive music, dancing in old Florida Located in the Cortez fishing village. Fun music in the afternoon. Pulled up in the boat, joined people on a picnic table and enjoyed the band. Very laid back. People started dancing. We also saw the nice catch that a charter brought in.

    T5946KIjuliew
    4/13/2019

    ReviewsGreat food & music First time going to this little hole-in-the-wall restaurant, on the marina, great music by 2 guitar players good music and tasty shrimp and scallops. Such a laid-back atmosphere. We just moved to Bradenton to miles from this restaurant can't wait to be a regular

    kendo103
    4/13/2019

    ReviewsHOT Shrimp After swimming all day long, it was Fantastic finding Cortez Kitchen and enjoying your One Pound of peel n eat shrimp - which thanks to LINDSAY - got them HOT for us. Not to mention the delicious Clam chouder and Beer Pitcher. Yiu made my last day in florida. Next time I come down I'll definitely pop in for more good food and great service!

    Jinenkan S
    4/06/2019

    ReviewsFamily Lunch Truly amazing food. It was harder to get a table for a party of 7 but the staff was very creative and got us ALL together.

    burgerclan
    4/02/2019

    ReviewsTopnotch food, atmosphere and service! Great find! Lunch here with a friend. Shared the seafood platter - more than enough for both of us. Great scallops, stuffed crab, shrimp, fish.
    The service was fast and the music was fabulous.
    What a great atmosphere, right on the water - quirky place.
    Can't wait to go back next year.

    cowgirlb
    3/31/2019

    ReviewsReally good and fresh food!! Stopped in for a causal lunch and everything was so tasty!! Nice clam chowder - full of clams, blackened grouper sandwich, coconut shrimp and buffalo grouper bits were all great!! The 3 of us split a piece of key lime pie - nice and tart. Good value and so fresh. Super casual, and a friendly and accomodating waitress.

    shadowasher123
    3/28/2019

    ReviewsYummy Lunch Stopped for lunch today and had the buffalo groupper bites. They were wonderful. Love the laid back atmosphere.

    900diannag
    3/21/2019

    ReviewsOld school Florida joint Great stop for lunch. Uber casual diner/tavern on the Cortez fishing wharf. Service is slow but you're here for the fresh fish. We highly recommend the grilled red shrimp. Ask for plenty of napkins. Juicy, succulent, and messy. Dive right in!

    ksmms
    3/13/2019
  • ReviewsWow!  This place is so very awesome!  Everyone we visit my husbands relatives in Bradenton, when they ask me where we want to eat we always say Cortez Kitchen! This place is right on the water.  You're surrounded by fishing boats.  I love Grouper.  I have had grouper at many places in Florida from Ft Myers Beach to Cortez.  Hands down Cortez Kitchen makes the most delicious grouper anywhere.  I prefer it blackened but all the ways of preparing it are perfect.  They also gave excellent peel and eat shrimp!  Tons of yummy fresh seafood here!  They have a variety of other menu items as well.  They also have very good live entertainment on the weekends.  Such an awesome place.  Make sure to check them out if your around the Sarasota Anna Maria Island Bradenton area.  This place is worth the trip!

    Kimberly H.
    3/12/2019

    ReviewsGreat food and service We loved this place. Ample portions and great service by Leann. We love grouper and couldn’t believe how perfectly pokes the fish was and the size of the sandwiches. Will return for sure when we come back next year !!!!

    MarkM36364
    3/03/2019

    ReviewsGreat price great food Second time here and will keep coming back! Stopped for lunch and had the scallops which were cooked to perfection! Great service and got to see the fishing boats come in with their catches and so did the pelicans.

    633marlenew
    3/02/2019

    ReviewsConch Fritters! Nice spot. Highly recommend the fritters, hush puppies and sweet tea.

    M L.
    2/08/2019

    ReviewsThe Best Seafood and Cheese Grits EVER!! Located in the old fishing town of Cortez and near a dry dock for boats...nothing fancy about the establishment BUT the BEST food ever! The chef could be working at a high end restaurant as the seafood was cooked to perfection, the cheese grits were unbelievable, the grouper was fresh, the oysters breaded lightly and fried just right. We went there two times and if ever again in that area, will definitely eat there again!!

    Oreo001
    2/07/2019

    ReviewsVacation Absolutely awesome restaurant. Great food and the best New England Clam Chowder I have ever tasted. Fun atmosphere on the water. The town of Cortez is a gem too.

    Jctraughber
    1/26/2019

    ReviewsGeat local talent and food. My husband and I had a blast here. Singing and dancing with the locals. Food was good and reasonably priced. They were very busy and service was okay.

    shugruee
    1/03/2019

    ReviewsFunky and fun! Go for the casual almost rustic ambience rather than the food. The food is good, but not exceptional. Friendly service and we go frequently so some of the waitresses know us. I like the steamed clams, the spicy shrimp roll, and the macho sandwich in particular. And, of course, the broccoli, which for 14 years has been the veggie du hour!

    Bi-coaster
    12/27/2018

    ReviewsGreat food, eclectic atmosphere This is not a fancy place, but you must come here. The food could not be fresher, they often have bands, you are outdoors, lots of parking, right on the water, it is delicious, what more could you ask for.

    Minkster56
    12/09/2018
  • ReviewsGreat Service We had a group of 12 on Friday night with Kettle of Fish playing, and the service with our waitress Amanda, was outstanding. She was very friendly and always there when we needed her. Chris the bartender is wonderful also, makes great rum runners, always with a smile. The food was very good. Thanks to Amanda for a fun evening.

    Lori C
    10/27/2018

    ReviewsGood Choice Being a native to the area, there are still places I have not been. This was one, decided to go, it was a nice night out, was busy, but service was still prompt and friendly. Food was good, server suggested the royal red shrimp, had it as an appetizer and it was excellent! Walked along the dock to see the beautiful sunset and orange sky! Live entertainment was fun to hear!

    Mangzz
    10/26/2018

    ReviewsDelicious This was an open air restaurant on the bay. The scallops were by far some of the best I have. had. I ordered grilled scallops prepared to perfection. The waitress recommended blacken scallops the next time we go to the restaurant. Another person at our table had steamed clams. The broth the clams were steamed in was the most developed sauce I've tasted in awhile. Nothing fancy about this place. On Saturday night there was live music and there many people dancing. Everyone at the table agreed the scallops and steamed clams were some of the best we've had. Would recommend this restaurant if you are in the area

    Jo91910
    10/10/2018

    ReviewsLive Music Wow for some great live music, great food with an outdoor vibe, this is the place to go. #Terry Helm

    jharristitle
    8/16/2018

    ReviewsAll seating is outside All seating is outside. 2/3 of it is under cover. The rest is at picnic tables with umbrellas. By a small inlet of water, not the best views. Great live music and the best thing is the food!! Seafood, chicken and burgers. We had 17 at the table and none of us had a bad meal!

    ShellyFmom
    8/12/2018

    ReviewsGood, but mostly a bar Food was pretty good, but this place is mostly a bar. Drinks are cheap, crazy cheap, but served cold and not watered down. Put off to us with the smoking. Burgers are big and the seafood is fresh. Compliments to the chef for serving pretty good food in a bar setting.

    SOKYFARMER
    7/21/2018

    ReviewsGreat food The food is great. I have been here before, and again the food and service was excellent. My only tiny complaint is that the music is so loud, you can't talk to your fellow diners.

    72Sharon1954
    7/02/2018

    ReviewsEat great seafood in a casual setting with friendly service. This place is popular with locals and visitors alike. You can come in your swimsuit, or dress up a bit. Always friendly staff and good service. We like the live music and tasty local seafood. Lots of parking. I think that you may be able to even ride your boat up to it too. It's a great place to socialize with friends. It feels like home every time we visit.

    764miltonc
    6/11/2018

    ReviewsFresh off the boat seafood!Local joint just off the bridge from Anna Maria island to Bradenton that's tucked away off the beaten path. Mainly a locals place as it was 10 steps from the Cortez fish and bait co dock (Cortez fish and bait co just moved 2 docks down this year)I've never had a bad meal here and only gave 4 (well deserving of a 4.5) stars as the beer menu is lack luster, mainly the big 3 and their light versions.I met the hubby there and found myself welcomed with a pound of peel and eat shrimp.Plump, crisp to bite and deveined they were a perfect start to a casual lunch.Eyes bigger than our head and enjoying the views, we opted to share the grouper platter. Blackened with hush puppies and okra wasn't our healthiest choice but oh my god!The huge portion of perfectly cooked fish accompanied by thinly cornmeal battered crunchy (not mushy or slimy) okra and onion and scallion filled hushpuppies were filling yet not at all greasy.We lingered longer (those views) and I opted for the "salty mule" to sip on. Titos and fresh grapefruit with a salt rim. Simple, tart and refreshing compared to the usually over sweet margaritas.We idled and watch the fishing and private charters dick, unload and prep their daily catch. Island music lulled in the background as I worked on my tan and took it all in.

    Kimberly B.
    6/08/2018
  • ReviewsGreat food and strong drinks help make a restaurant, along with great service.  I was here on a not busy Saturday lunch and the server was a little slow. We waited a solid 5 minutes before our drink order wa taken and another 5 or 10 before our meal order was taken. After I rejected the offer of a second Blue Hawaiian, (I would have liked water) she sailed away to not be heard from until lunch was done and we needed a check. The food was delicious, I had buffalo grouper, it was a sizable piece of fish and super fresh and delicious. While the service wasn't great,  this meal did not disappoint.  We'll likely be back,  it's a cute place with good food on the water.

    Kimberly P.
    6/04/2018

    ReviewsGreat food and atmosphere. We walked right in and the waitress was right there taking our drink order. Food came out quickly and correct.

    Tracy R.
    5/31/2018

    ReviewsRelaxing, informal dockside late afternoon eating delight. Second visit here by my family but memorable first for me. Compliments to the Chef for our enjoyment of your fish preparation.
    I am anxious to reurn and try a few oher seafood iems.

    John S
    5/25/2018

    ReviewsFunky place Yes, this is a funky little place with very little parking but it is worth a visit. Blackend grouper was very tasty and you can pick two sides to go with the fish. Drinks are not over priced and there is just something fun about eating here.

    capecodkaren009
    4/23/2018

    ReviewsWent here for the first time tonight, they had live music which was great . Our waitress Lindsey recommended the Royal Red Shrimps as a appetizer, if you like lobster you will love these . We also had the grilled grouper sandwich and fried oysters and little neck clams . It does not get any fresher than this place ! A must when you go to AMI

    Jason N.
    4/20/2018

    ReviewsA great place. Very interesting place. Picnic tables above the water in the open space. You order food, pay and waitress brings you food in a nice box. The food is very fresh and tasty. There is a fish shop next to it. I recommend this place.

    KrysiaK
    4/16/2018

    ReviewsVery interesting place. Picnic tables above the water in the open space. You order food, you pay and waitress brings you food in a nice box. The food is very fresh and tasty. There is a fish shop next to it. I recommend this place. A great place.

    Krysia K.
    4/16/2018

    ReviewsBest Freaking Fish I think I've ever had in a restaurant. Grouper fried, grilled it doesn't matter get it. This is the best. Place is a little loud when band is playing but I would sit in the rain to eat this food. Service was good and prices fair. I hate to even review this place as I don't want it too get to crowded for me next time but had to rave about the fish as not only is it fresh, the cooks got it just right; wow.

    rayboy
    4/11/2018

    ReviewsSuper!!! The food is awesome!!! It is a busy place and can sometimes take a while to get your food, but it is well worth the wait!!!!

    kschwartz2017
    4/02/2018
  • ReviewsSupper Very good food, great service, and A fun atmosphere with live music. Very good seafood and fish dinners and a semi waterfront location.

    P1519MNchrisg
    4/01/2018

    ReviewsLunch-dinner We met friends here and we had the best grouper sandwiches on this trip. They also have a full bar which is a little unusual. Most places like this only have beer and wine. The service and atmosphere were just what we look for in Florida along the water.

    eileenmf
    3/26/2018

    ReviewsThe feel of old Florida We totally adore Cortez Kitchen! It really has the feel of the old Florida we all know and love. Nothing dated about the food and drinks. We love the Lobster Bisque. Actually, we pretty much love everything there. We go every time we are in Florida and will continue to do so. We hope Cortez never changes!

    maryaP252AB
    3/22/2018

    ReviewsVery nice place to relax and enjoy the day... Have the fried oysters and I really enjoyed them..

    Joe H.
    3/22/2018

    ReviewsStopped here for lunch on a Saturday.  It's located next to fishing boats on the water, so the seafood was fresh. I got the buffalo grouper and my husband the popcorn shrimp basket.  Both were excellent choices, we would definitely return if in this area again.

    Sherri R.
    3/10/2018

    ReviewsAuthentic Local Vibe The food was excellent. We had grouper and coconut shrimp. Local band was playing. Laid back atmosphere with open dining.

    Kristy S
    3/04/2018

    ReviewsGREAT NEIGHBOR HOOD RESTAURANT Friendly place to visit, happy hour prices are great, staff is friendly and helpful. This restaurant is located in Cortez Village which is a fishing village so you know that any fish or seafood you order is as fresh as it gets, the prices are reasonable. On weekends there is live entertainment from local bands which adds to the dining experience. We will definitely be going back when we next visit Bradenton.

    VikingMontreal
    2/21/2018

    ReviewsItaliana I had lunch there today and was very pleased with the food and the service. There were a lot of people there and all seemed to enjoy themselves. It is pet friendly.

    ZeebruggeExplorer
    2/19/2018

    ReviewsGreat seafood, pleasant atmosphere.  Live music most weekends. On the water. They serve most beers and drinks. By the fishing station in Cortez village.

    Kermit M.
    2/15/2018
  • ReviewsLaid back atmosphere with great food. The atmosphere was laid back and outside with a covered roof. We had a grouper sandwich , mahi and scallops dinners. They were all so yummy. This place has a happy hour 4-6 too. We found out that this place and The Swordfish Grill next door is owned by the person just managed separately. Check out the Cortez Kitchen first!

    Sandy N
    2/14/2018

    ReviewsWe always try to eat here at least once when we spend a week or two in Bradenton and Annamaria Island. It is a local place more informal and lower price than the sword fish which is right next-door. Both restaurants are right on the water where the fishing boats come in in the morning. I would definitely recommend the fish except on Saturday nights when they also have steaks. I would recommend trying your fish fried because they do a great job with a light batter and serve it piping hot. All the fish was caught that morning. I am especially partial to their softshell crab sandwich. Served on a bun with a great homemade Cajun sauce.

    Bob B.
    2/06/2018

    ReviewsGood fresh fish Good place for partying and getting fresh florida fish. Local, honest and funny. Remember, florida is for fish not buffet pizza from czech people.

    The-great-LondonAnne
    1/26/2018

    ReviewsLow key and more of a locals place than the other couple restaurants nearby.   The buffalo grouper nuggests are simply fantastic.   Partner them with the hush puppies and a rum drink.  Bartenders are always very personable.    They officially don't allow dogs but I've seen a few well behaved ones there.

    Matt J.
    1/26/2018

    Reviewscindy the best and great food Was hesitant after seeing a few bad reviews. Server Cindy was terrific. Six of us all had something different and all very pleased with selection: grilled grouper, raw oysters, fried oysters, dinner salad with grilled chicken, pink shrimp dinner and for me the pink shrimp appetizer...8 very large grilled in shell shrimp with drawn butter for dipping. Everything superb. Started with cream cheese poppers and conch fritters, also excellent. The singers, 5 minus 3 gave us perfect music for sing along and a jig around the floor.

    millers1948
    1/22/2018

    ReviewsDining with the fishermen This funky little restaurant is a great place to come in good weather, but you are basically sitting outside so avoid it on a cold day. It is fun to sit here and watch the boats come in and crates of seafood being moved about. You feel you are part of a fisherman's life. We had the fried shrimp this visit. Our sides included good grits with cheese, yummy fried okra and a mediocre dish of macaroni and cheese. Happy hour here is a hit with the locals, who all arrive at 4 p.m. to partake of beer, wine and well drinks. This place is Old Florida at its best.

    Cheryl A
    1/14/2018

    ReviewsBetter than we expected We decided to try this place again, as we hadn't been here in a few years, (not because it was a horrible experience the 1st time, it was because we never thought about it). Anyway, I got the stuffed blue crab shells and my husband got a steamer meal. And they both were amazingly delicious. Best stuff crab shell I ever had. My husband was almost upset that he was too full to continue eating. Give this place a shot. It's pretty much an outdoor restaurant but has tarps they pull down when it's chilly. I can not wait to go back now and eat more stuffed crab shells....

    Benannie
    1/01/2018

    ReviewsExcellent! Great seafood and cool atmosphere. A big menu but I always get the grouper sandwich. It can get busy during season!

    Megan941
    12/30/2017

    ReviewsThis is a neighborhood hang out full of locals and fun loving people.  Come for the music and stay to dance the night away. Food is just so so unless you're there for the steaks on Saturday night! Raw bar choices offer you a little extra you don't find at other places in the area.

    Deby C.
    11/12/2017
  • ReviewsCasual, laid back outdoor dining. Fans blowing with mist and shade off the docks made for a nice lunch. Nancy made an excellent bloody mary and both servers were attentive. We had two kinds of peel and eat shrimp, the standard cold (nice and big) and the grilled Royal Red (even bigger), both were very fresh, some of the best we've had in the area. Burger was juicy and sweet potato fries were hot and crisp (try with honey mustard!). I am looking forward to visiting again and trying more options from the menu. Everything seems prepared fresh. I would assume this is the source of complaint from those saying they've had long waits. We came on a less crowded day and had no problems, but I would think it would be worth it, even on a crowded day.

    Stephanie N.
    10/12/2017

    ReviewsThe music tonight definitely added to the ambiance... basic outdoor bar with expensive seafood choices that would be just tasty enough for the chef not to be sent home on Master Chef. Prices are on the more expensive side for the type of place it positions itself to be, but when the band is right it makes up for it. Waitress was very good but split between the two areas of the place, so she wasn't always coming through with extras asked for... but couldn't blame her for running back and forth that things would slip through the cracks.

    Tobias B.
    8/11/2017

    ReviewsFood was great not very kid friendly for dinner.  No lids for cups.  Service was really slow that is why it isn't 5 stars. Food was great

    Anthony P.
    3/28/2017

    ReviewsNice place to go for a drink and some apps! It isn't very fancy so don't worry about dressing up. The tables are right by the water with a great view. We got some drinks and ...- A pound of the peel and eat shrimp: tasted great and were a good size. - Hush puppies : pretty good! They came alone with no dressing- so if you want something to dip them in make sure you ask. - Mild wings: surprisingly good! These even passed the taste test from my brother that lives in Buffalo NY (where Buffalo wings were founded)

    Haylee M.
    3/21/2017

    ReviewsIf you love the feel of casual, port side dining, this is the place. They have pink shrimp on the menu which is a delicious, creamy tasting shrimp. Comes close to a lobster flavor. They have a happy hour with beer and wine specials and a very friendly staff. Take a walk around the docks when the fishing boats are coming in and enjoy the fantastic sunset!

    Cyndi V.
    1/17/2017

    ReviewsHad the royal red shrimp meal, a skewer of eight big ones, fresh off the boat with drawn butter, very tasty. The fries could have been hotter but the rings were good. Staff very friendly. Heads up this is a smoking allowed establishment so if you don't partake you may want to sit on the sidelines of the dock, yes outside dining.

    Marcel B.
    1/14/2017

    ReviewsFun happy hour.  $2 coronas and wells.  &7.50 terriaki wings.  Food was fresh and fun.  Service was great.  Fresh grouper sandwiches.  Soft shell crab.

    Kathy K.
    12/30/2016

    ReviewsDropped in for some late lunch.  Was surprised to see a performer playing guitar and singing.  He was OK - mostly 70's & 80's rock songs.Seating is covered but outdoors.  It was a cooler day so that was not a problem.Ordered peel & eat shrimp and calamari.  Both were good but the shrimp could have used a bit more seasoning.  Husband's mixed drink somehow got spilled and waitress never even offered him a replacement, not even a cup of water.

    Vicki H.
    11/14/2016

    ReviewsWe stopped in here last night for dinner. There was a group of 5 of us. We started with the clams. They were really good. Then for dinner we all had something different but it was all good. The various items we ordered were The Cuban sandwich & hush puppies, the blackened grouper sandwich, the buffalo grouper sandwich, conch fritters and the soft shell crab. The only thing that I would say that wasn't the best were the hush puppies, They were a little overcooked. The Pina colada & strawberry daiquiri were really good too! We were getting eaten alive by no see ums so they offered us bug spray. Unfortunately that did not help. The waitress was really nice but food came out slow. I think they were short on staff. We plan on coming back in the cooler months so we can enjoy the atmosphere a bit more.

    Laura T.
    9/11/2016
  • ReviewsFamous landmark eating establishment  .....setting at a the bar with an acceptable two guitar/singers...we shall see.... I was recommended the shrimp on a skewer her with coleslaw. The shrimp came from Bell fishmarket next door so it was super local and super fresh and outside I'll be back it was amazing. There were a lot of fan so it cool the food down pretty quicklyand that was a little difficult but beyond that I give it 4 1/2 stars.

    Paul B.
    8/14/2016

    ReviewsAwesome food and drink specials. If your lucky enough to be there on a night Eric Von performs HOME RUN!

    Jerry K.
    7/08/2016

READ WHAT OUR

CUSTOMERS

HAVE TO SAY

  • 624cliffordp
    Reviews

    Delightful evening at Cortez Kitchen Following a bad experience with the hostess at Swordfish Grill after a 35-minute wait, we were not in a good mood when we walked next door to Cortez Kitchen. But we had a great time, thanks to the friendly waitress Shannon and some amazing seafood. One of the specials was grilled red shrimp, which Shannon said are from Argentina. Although we like to support locally caught seafood whenever possible, we ordered the red shrimp as an appetizer and they were so tasty I ordered them as my main course too. The main course comes with two sides ($21.99; I can’t remember appetizer price). Served with melted butter, they taste like mini-lobsters. The Steamer Pot of shrimp, scallops, clams, grouper, broccoli, and celery ($21.99) and steamed clams ($11.99) were delicious. We love the hole-in-the-wall atmosphere in a covered outdoor setting. It reminds me of what makes Anna Maria Island special. Thanks to the staff at Cortez Kitchen for rescuing our disastrous evening and making it special.

    3/12/2020
  • Sandra S
    Reviews

    Great food n menu0 We ate at the Cortez Kitchen on Monday evening. They had a good band playing, who were very good.
    Enjoyed the food and music.

    2/11/2020
  • FloGrownTC
    Reviews

    Good food, music Great atmosphere. So close to fish docks the fish are practically jumping into the skillet or on the grill. Great "real Florida" seafood. I would enthusiastically recommend this restaurant "joint" to friends and family!

    2/11/2020
  • Jepster
    Reviews

    Fresh as it gets - seafood! My wife and I love going here to Cortez Kitchen for the fresh seafood. We have been going here for many years and never disappointed. I love the scallops and ask for them blackened. Really very good and we also like the fried shrimp, delicious enough that I also eat the tails on the shrimp, that good. This is our go to spot when we arrive Florida and are looking for the real fresh seafood...Hard to beat this place as everything is very tasty! Very open, on the water and very relaxing atmosphere, Florida at it's best!

    1/27/2020
  • kkimball73
    Reviews

    Great dinner - Service was not so great .... I hate to bag on bad service, but they must have been short-staffed for a Friday night because our poor server was running around like a crazy person but we waited for multiple things (ranch, refills, the check) for far too long. People standing around waiting for our table since it was a packed house but we were waiting on our check.. That being said, the food was fabulous!! Royal Reds any time I can get them - if you like shell fish, YOU MUST HAVE THESE!! My husband had a burger, said it was greasy through the bun but tasted good... Good thing we were catching up with family we haven't seen in a while or the service would have been really buggy...

    1/18/2020
  • loveysgirl
    Reviews

    Great find! Quaint Waterfront restaurant, fresh seafood, large portions, reasonable prices. Best seafood I’ve eaten in a very long time. Staff was very friendly.

    1/12/2020
  • Minkster56
    Reviews

    Wonderful lunch Fresh fish sandwich and a side, in this case onion rings and for me an order of tuna roll. Very fresh. Mixed drinks were $3.50. the band was setting up to play. A lovely Sunday afternoon.

    12/29/2019
  • 13ChrisM13
    Reviews

    Stone crab claws! Get the dinner with seven mediums and two sides. Funky place with music on the weekends. Still weird with smoking allowed

    11/21/2019
  • msistlrf
    Reviews

    Old Florida at its best The place the locals go for good food and excellent entertainment. Our server was exceptional and her meal suggestion was right on target. Our group enjoyed the evening. Thanks Cindy for all the help.

    11/07/2019
  • hotfoods54
    Reviews

    Grouper sandwich to die for... Had a chance to revisit an old eatery that has been serving Real Grouper sandwichs for at least the past 20+ yrs... And the steamed broccoli with garlic "secret sauce" as a side item with the Fried, Blackened or Grilled Grouper is a true Florida Lunch or Dinner that can not be beat... Check it out for a good time with the Full Bar (including Tampa's Cigar City brewery crafted beers, plus some of the newer libations now being brewed in SRQ)...And don't forget to stop by the Florida Maritime museum which is a very short walk from the old time Cracker style eatery..

    11/06/2019
  • Theresa M
    Reviews

    Royal Red Shrimp!!! These shrimp are not just huge they taste more like lobster than shrimp. The texture is like lobster claw!!! I heard about them but was happily surprised that it's all true. Amazing food there.

    10/26/2019
  • SanFranciscoGuy634
    Reviews

    Funky, Local, Old Florida, Delightful If you want a super fancy big menu in deluxe surroundings, don't go here. But if you like a funky sort of place that's been keeping people happy - a lot of local people and visitors too - for many years, one with a lively bar, music on occasion, outside-inside setting right by the water, and one where you will see some really interesting people - types you may never see that often, well, try this place. It's been one of our favorites for years. We keep going back. Oh yes. The food is good too.

    9/26/2019
  • Bob S.
    Reviews

    Great outdoor restaurant/bar on the waterfront where casual is not only the norm but highly recommended. Menu is seafood based but there are other items such as prime rib, burgers, and chicken.We visited restaurant for lunch and had a blackened Reuben grouper sandwich, a soft shell crab sandwich, sweet potato fries, cole slaw and finished it off with delicious key lime pie!!Great staff. Easy parking

    8/21/2019
  • timegginton
    Reviews

    Good vibe at cortez kitchen Very enjoyable evening nice food friendly good service enjoyed the music great open restaurant at the waters edge boat yard

    8/10/2019
  • gr2070
    Reviews

    Food, entertainment, service all great! My family and I stopped by on a weekday evening. The service was prompt and friendly. All the dishes we ordered were very good....fried shrimp, fried oysters, fries, coleslaw, fresh fruit . The only small complaint was the grouper bites were slightly under cooked. The live entertainment was very good also.

    7/25/2019
  • Monika M.
    Reviews

    Nice place with fresh seafood plus good customer service, can't wait to come back. Grilled grouper was perfect

    7/13/2019
  • markandmichelefenter
    Reviews

    Just Love Cortez Kitchen! For a hidden gem, with great views and true history, go here! We go several times a year and are really not disappointed. Food is sometimes hit or miss and the prices are higher but overall, a great place to hang outside and enjoy the ambiance! Drinks are cold and STRONG....Prefer beer in bottle than draft, as it gets warm to quick. I tried the Cabo Rita and it was fabulous...9.00 but huge drink and soooooo tasty! Our meal was grouper bites and hushpuppies with fried oysters......Very good!

    7/10/2019
  • KRH3285
    Reviews

    Fresh Seafood! Amazing Grouper and boiled Shrimp platters! Best fresh seafood around!!! The atmosphere is perfect if you are looking for a hidden old Florida Gem!

    7/08/2019
  • 778amyf
    Reviews

    A total dive — perfect for us! If you don’t love a local dive, this isn’t your place. But if you don’t mind outdoor seating at a local bar, this is a must. Loved the food—fish and chips, grouper sandwich, magi sandwich, wings. Our family really liked it. It’s not classy—but it is great! Would definitely go back. They have live music sometimes, too, but no band when we were there.

    6/29/2019
  • T5946KIjuliew
    Reviews

    Live music, dancing in old Florida Located in the Cortez fishing village. Fun music in the afternoon. Pulled up in the boat, joined people on a picnic table and enjoyed the band. Very laid back. People started dancing. We also saw the nice catch that a charter brought in.

    4/13/2019
  • kendo103
    Reviews

    Great food & music First time going to this little hole-in-the-wall restaurant, on the marina, great music by 2 guitar players good music and tasty shrimp and scallops. Such a laid-back atmosphere. We just moved to Bradenton to miles from this restaurant can't wait to be a regular

    4/13/2019
  • Jinenkan S
    Reviews

    HOT Shrimp After swimming all day long, it was Fantastic finding Cortez Kitchen and enjoying your One Pound of peel n eat shrimp - which thanks to LINDSAY - got them HOT for us. Not to mention the delicious Clam chouder and Beer Pitcher. Yiu made my last day in florida. Next time I come down I'll definitely pop in for more good food and great service!

    4/06/2019
  • burgerclan
    Reviews

    Family Lunch Truly amazing food. It was harder to get a table for a party of 7 but the staff was very creative and got us ALL together.

    4/02/2019
  • cowgirlb
    Reviews

    Topnotch food, atmosphere and service! Great find! Lunch here with a friend. Shared the seafood platter - more than enough for both of us. Great scallops, stuffed crab, shrimp, fish.
    The service was fast and the music was fabulous.
    What a great atmosphere, right on the water - quirky place.
    Can't wait to go back next year.

    3/31/2019
  • shadowasher123
    Reviews

    Really good and fresh food!! Stopped in for a causal lunch and everything was so tasty!! Nice clam chowder - full of clams, blackened grouper sandwich, coconut shrimp and buffalo grouper bits were all great!! The 3 of us split a piece of key lime pie - nice and tart. Good value and so fresh. Super casual, and a friendly and accomodating waitress.

    3/28/2019
  • 900diannag
    Reviews

    Yummy Lunch Stopped for lunch today and had the buffalo groupper bites. They were wonderful. Love the laid back atmosphere.

    3/21/2019
  • ksmms
    Reviews

    Old school Florida joint Great stop for lunch. Uber casual diner/tavern on the Cortez fishing wharf. Service is slow but you're here for the fresh fish. We highly recommend the grilled red shrimp. Ask for plenty of napkins. Juicy, succulent, and messy. Dive right in!

    3/13/2019
  • Kimberly H.
    Reviews

    Wow!  This place is so very awesome!  Everyone we visit my husbands relatives in Bradenton, when they ask me where we want to eat we always say Cortez Kitchen! This place is right on the water.  You're surrounded by fishing boats.  I love Grouper.  I have had grouper at many places in Florida from Ft Myers Beach to Cortez.  Hands down Cortez Kitchen makes the most delicious grouper anywhere.  I prefer it blackened but all the ways of preparing it are perfect.  They also gave excellent peel and eat shrimp!  Tons of yummy fresh seafood here!  They have a variety of other menu items as well.  They also have very good live entertainment on the weekends.  Such an awesome place.  Make sure to check them out if your around the Sarasota Anna Maria Island Bradenton area.  This place is worth the trip!

    3/12/2019
  • MarkM36364
    Reviews

    Great food and service We loved this place. Ample portions and great service by Leann. We love grouper and couldn’t believe how perfectly pokes the fish was and the size of the sandwiches. Will return for sure when we come back next year !!!!

    3/03/2019
  • 633marlenew
    Reviews

    Great price great food Second time here and will keep coming back! Stopped for lunch and had the scallops which were cooked to perfection! Great service and got to see the fishing boats come in with their catches and so did the pelicans.

    3/02/2019
  • M L.
    Reviews

    Conch Fritters! Nice spot. Highly recommend the fritters, hush puppies and sweet tea.

    2/08/2019
  • Oreo001
    Reviews

    The Best Seafood and Cheese Grits EVER!! Located in the old fishing town of Cortez and near a dry dock for boats...nothing fancy about the establishment BUT the BEST food ever! The chef could be working at a high end restaurant as the seafood was cooked to perfection, the cheese grits were unbelievable, the grouper was fresh, the oysters breaded lightly and fried just right. We went there two times and if ever again in that area, will definitely eat there again!!

    2/07/2019
  • Jctraughber
    Reviews

    Vacation Absolutely awesome restaurant. Great food and the best New England Clam Chowder I have ever tasted. Fun atmosphere on the water. The town of Cortez is a gem too.

    1/26/2019
  • shugruee
    Reviews

    Geat local talent and food. My husband and I had a blast here. Singing and dancing with the locals. Food was good and reasonably priced. They were very busy and service was okay.

    1/03/2019
  • Bi-coaster
    Reviews

    Funky and fun! Go for the casual almost rustic ambience rather than the food. The food is good, but not exceptional. Friendly service and we go frequently so some of the waitresses know us. I like the steamed clams, the spicy shrimp roll, and the macho sandwich in particular. And, of course, the broccoli, which for 14 years has been the veggie du hour!

    12/27/2018
  • Minkster56
    Reviews

    Great food, eclectic atmosphere This is not a fancy place, but you must come here. The food could not be fresher, they often have bands, you are outdoors, lots of parking, right on the water, it is delicious, what more could you ask for.

    12/09/2018
  • Lori C
    Reviews

    Great Service We had a group of 12 on Friday night with Kettle of Fish playing, and the service with our waitress Amanda, was outstanding. She was very friendly and always there when we needed her. Chris the bartender is wonderful also, makes great rum runners, always with a smile. The food was very good. Thanks to Amanda for a fun evening.

    10/27/2018
  • Mangzz
    Reviews

    Good Choice Being a native to the area, there are still places I have not been. This was one, decided to go, it was a nice night out, was busy, but service was still prompt and friendly. Food was good, server suggested the royal red shrimp, had it as an appetizer and it was excellent! Walked along the dock to see the beautiful sunset and orange sky! Live entertainment was fun to hear!

    10/26/2018
  • Jo91910
    Reviews

    Delicious This was an open air restaurant on the bay. The scallops were by far some of the best I have. had. I ordered grilled scallops prepared to perfection. The waitress recommended blacken scallops the next time we go to the restaurant. Another person at our table had steamed clams. The broth the clams were steamed in was the most developed sauce I've tasted in awhile. Nothing fancy about this place. On Saturday night there was live music and there many people dancing. Everyone at the table agreed the scallops and steamed clams were some of the best we've had. Would recommend this restaurant if you are in the area

    10/10/2018
  • jharristitle
    Reviews

    Live Music Wow for some great live music, great food with an outdoor vibe, this is the place to go. #Terry Helm

    8/16/2018
  • ShellyFmom
    Reviews

    All seating is outside All seating is outside. 2/3 of it is under cover. The rest is at picnic tables with umbrellas. By a small inlet of water, not the best views. Great live music and the best thing is the food!! Seafood, chicken and burgers. We had 17 at the table and none of us had a bad meal!

    8/12/2018
  • SOKYFARMER
    Reviews

    Good, but mostly a bar Food was pretty good, but this place is mostly a bar. Drinks are cheap, crazy cheap, but served cold and not watered down. Put off to us with the smoking. Burgers are big and the seafood is fresh. Compliments to the chef for serving pretty good food in a bar setting.

    7/21/2018
  • 72Sharon1954
    Reviews

    Great food The food is great. I have been here before, and again the food and service was excellent. My only tiny complaint is that the music is so loud, you can't talk to your fellow diners.

    7/02/2018
  • 764miltonc
    Reviews

    Eat great seafood in a casual setting with friendly service. This place is popular with locals and visitors alike. You can come in your swimsuit, or dress up a bit. Always friendly staff and good service. We like the live music and tasty local seafood. Lots of parking. I think that you may be able to even ride your boat up to it too. It's a great place to socialize with friends. It feels like home every time we visit.

    6/11/2018
  • Kimberly B.
    Reviews

    Fresh off the boat seafood!Local joint just off the bridge from Anna Maria island to Bradenton that's tucked away off the beaten path. Mainly a locals place as it was 10 steps from the Cortez fish and bait co dock (Cortez fish and bait co just moved 2 docks down this year)I've never had a bad meal here and only gave 4 (well deserving of a 4.5) stars as the beer menu is lack luster, mainly the big 3 and their light versions.I met the hubby there and found myself welcomed with a pound of peel and eat shrimp.Plump, crisp to bite and deveined they were a perfect start to a casual lunch.Eyes bigger than our head and enjoying the views, we opted to share the grouper platter. Blackened with hush puppies and okra wasn't our healthiest choice but oh my god!The huge portion of perfectly cooked fish accompanied by thinly cornmeal battered crunchy (not mushy or slimy) okra and onion and scallion filled hushpuppies were filling yet not at all greasy.We lingered longer (those views) and I opted for the "salty mule" to sip on. Titos and fresh grapefruit with a salt rim. Simple, tart and refreshing compared to the usually over sweet margaritas.We idled and watch the fishing and private charters dick, unload and prep their daily catch. Island music lulled in the background as I worked on my tan and took it all in.

    6/08/2018
  • Kimberly P.
    Reviews

    Great food and strong drinks help make a restaurant, along with great service.  I was here on a not busy Saturday lunch and the server was a little slow. We waited a solid 5 minutes before our drink order wa taken and another 5 or 10 before our meal order was taken. After I rejected the offer of a second Blue Hawaiian, (I would have liked water) she sailed away to not be heard from until lunch was done and we needed a check. The food was delicious, I had buffalo grouper, it was a sizable piece of fish and super fresh and delicious. While the service wasn't great,  this meal did not disappoint.  We'll likely be back,  it's a cute place with good food on the water.

    6/04/2018
  • Tracy R.
    Reviews

    Great food and atmosphere. We walked right in and the waitress was right there taking our drink order. Food came out quickly and correct.

    5/31/2018
  • John S
    Reviews

    Relaxing, informal dockside late afternoon eating delight. Second visit here by my family but memorable first for me. Compliments to the Chef for our enjoyment of your fish preparation.
    I am anxious to reurn and try a few oher seafood iems.

    5/25/2018
  • capecodkaren009
    Reviews

    Funky place Yes, this is a funky little place with very little parking but it is worth a visit. Blackend grouper was very tasty and you can pick two sides to go with the fish. Drinks are not over priced and there is just something fun about eating here.

    4/23/2018
  • Jason N.
    Reviews

    Went here for the first time tonight, they had live music which was great . Our waitress Lindsey recommended the Royal Red Shrimps as a appetizer, if you like lobster you will love these . We also had the grilled grouper sandwich and fried oysters and little neck clams . It does not get any fresher than this place ! A must when you go to AMI

    4/20/2018
Reviews
Reviews
Reviews

(941) 798-9404

4528 119TH ST W, CORTEZ, FL 34215

OPEN DAILY

TUE – THU 12 – 9 PM | FRI – SAT 12 – 9 PM | SUN 12 – 9 PM